JTH AGENCY CLASSIC

Contributed by Wes Bailey

Victor, NY -- Victor Rod and Gun Club proudly hosted the 2025 JTH Agency Classic from June 6th to June 8th. This year's event was the 36th anniversary of this registered skeet tournament. It was the 21st consecutive year that John and Elizabeth Hessney, owners of the JTH Agency, sponsored the doubles and four-gun events. This year's shoot featured over \$6000 in added money and valuable prizes. Shooters travelled from around the regional area to attend this well-respected tournament.

Friday afternoon started the competition with 47 shooters in the doubles event. Mat Kelley and Nick Bourboon each shot 99's. Matt won the short shoot-off to claim the Champ title with Bourboon becoming the runner-up. Dan Walker recently returned to skeet shooting. In his first doubles competition in seven years, Dan claimed the AA title with an excellent score of 98. Look out shooters, Dan is back. Other class winners were Clay Tietjen (A), Shane Farr (B), William DiSalle (C), and Codie McGuane (D). After the conclusion of the shooting, the shooters were treated to a happy hour and a wonderful ham dinner compliments of Jim and Hilda Thompson. Thanks Jim and Hilda!

Fifty-seven shooters took to the fields for Saturday's competition with the 12-gauge event first. The weather was hazy calm so the targets had a hard time eluding the shooters. Steve Loveday, David Cooley, Steve Wood, and Dess Ivanov each ran 100 targets. After a brief shoot-off, Loveday came out on top as 12-gauge champ, followed by David Cooley as runner-up. Steve Wood took AA class champ, followed by Dess Ivanov as AA2. Other Class winners were Don Lewandoski (A), Dale ("Bob") Patterson (B), Colin Smingler (C), junior shooter Trevor Gleockner (D) and David Pickles (E).

The 20-gauge competition initiated the action on Saturday afternoon. The scoring continued with Nick Boerboon, Clay Tietjen, Dale Patterson, and Colin Smingler each posting 100s. After a lively shoot-off, Boerboon was crowned 20-gauge champ, with Tietjen following as runner-up. Patterson was A class champ and Smingler was C class champ. The remaining class winners were Steve Wood (AA), Shane Farr (B), and William DiSalle (D).

This year, Pete Hamann of Pete's Stockworks in Bloomfield, NY generously donated \$300 in added money for a special 20-gauge handicapped event for B/C/D class shooters only. Trevor Gloeckner, Terry Prem, and Colin Smingler each shared equally in this year's special 20-gauge handicapped event.

At the conclusion of Saturday's shoot-offs, the shooters, family members, guests, and gun club volunteers all enjoyed a great happy hour and a delicious steak dinner. The shooters' steaks were donated by the Victor Rod and Gun Club boosters. The steaks were grilled to perfection, and they were yummy!

Sunday's weather continued calm with the Canadian wildfires providing a light hazy background. With great anticipation the shooters took to the fields to compete in the 28-gauge and the 410 bore events. First up was the 28-gauge event. Only Steve Loveday was able to post a perfect score of 100 to claim the 28-gauge title. Wood, Ivanov, David Cooley, and Tietjen were one target behind. After the shoot-off dust settled, Wood was crowned the 28-gauge runner-up, Ivanov AA class winner, Cooley A class winner, and Tietjen AA2. Additional class winners were Fritz Ochab (B), Mike Kinsella (C), and Victor Stirpe (D).

Sunday afternoon featured the 410-bore event. Nick Boerboon and Clay Tietjen had 99s to best the field. After a short shoot-off, Nick emerged as Champ with Clay as runner-up. The remaining 12-gauge class winners were Dess Ivanov (AA), John Boone (A), Owen Cooley (B), Jeff Groh (C), and Guy Barr (D.



Throughout the weekend, Clay Tietjen was steady, consistent, and on-target. Clay's 397x400 was the top HOA score. Clay needed every target as Nick Boerboon was only one target behind to claim HOA runner-up. HOA class winners were Steve Wood (AA), John Boone (A), Dale ("Bob") Patterson (B), and Shane Farr (C/D/E combined).

Again, this year, all four-gun shooters were eligible to enter "Joe's Challenge". This event is a handicapped event allowing shooters of all classes the chance to win. It is named in memory of Joe Strazzeri. Joe was a great skeet shooter and a stalwart of the Victor Rod and Gun Club. The DiMarco Group donated \$2500 in added money for Joe's Challenge. The event drew great

interest from the shooters. The shooters closely watched the scoreboard throughout the weekend. This year's Joe's Challenge paid five places. The winners in order were Doug Paddock, Clay Tietjen, Denny Lehman, Zack Jacot, and Bob Patterson. Great shooting guys! Thanks to the DiMarco Group for your generosity in sponsoring this event.

Special thanks go out to our club volunteers for their strong support. Congratulations to our admin team for streamlining the registration process and ensuring that the shoot management process ran flawlessly. Also, thanks to Jim Thompson and Dan Caryl and the great crew of fine referees. We cannot thank shoot sponsors John and Elizabeth Hessney enough for their support and generosity. Each year they give back to the sport of skeet by sponsoring this fine event. Check out their store online at https://www.jthagency.com

Most of all, thank you to this year's shooters. We appreciate your continued support of this shoot. We look forward to seeing you at the 2026 JTH Agency Classic!